Skip to content

Kefir

Also known as: Milchkefir, Kefirknollen, Sahnekefir

Slightly fizzy fermented milk drink cultured with lactic acid bacteria and yeasts that contains traces of alcohol.

Kefir originally comes from the Caucasus. Traditionally, milk is fermented with kefir grains, a symbiotic community of lactic acid bacteria and yeasts. Industrial production mostly uses defined cultures. This produces lactic acid, carbon dioxide and a small amount of alcohol.

Kefir tastes tangy, refreshing and slightly fizzy. As with yoghurt, there are versions with different fat contents, from skimmed-milk kefir to cream kefir. It may not be heated after fermentation. Water kefir is a different, dairy-free drink.

Related terms

AyranButtermilkFermentationKombucha

More from Non-alcoholic

Still waterHay milkGinger aleNon-alcoholic beerEnergy drinkDrinking yoghurt

← Back to the glossary